Backpacker’s Hotseat: Sherry of Fabulous 50’s

The most common question to backpackers, travel enthusiasts and the like are, until when will you travel? Do you think you’ll stop when you turned 40/50 or when you have a baby and a husband or wife to take care of?

These questions are asked by those who have not been bitten by a travel bug – those who have not felt the feeling of being bitten by the most infectious bug on earth. I do believe Michael Palin when he said that “Once the travel bug bites there is no known antidote, and I know that I shall be happily infected until the end of my life.”

This is my first post this 2012. People need inspiration. Most of the time they get these inspirations from themselves and sometimes from other people’s experiences. I am pleased to share with you my interview with Sherry of Fabulous 50’s blog. I see her as one brave, inspiring woman who have became passionate about travel, outdoors and adventures, who embraces life to the fullest.

She’s a gem on a travel blogging community and I’m glad I have been able to feature her on the Backpacker’s Hotseat.

Here are Sherry’s answers to my questions:

When and how did you discover your passion for backpacking/traveling?  
I discovered my love of backpacking/traveling when I lived in Germany back in the late 70’s while I was in the military.  I was able to visit quite a few countries in Europe and loved living there.

Have you had any horrible experiences on the road? How or what?
I was hit by a car in San Francisco as I was running across the street in 2007, on a solo trip.  My angels were looking out for me, because I didn’t get hurt…not even a bruise…just a small pea-sized scrape on my elbow.

Share the best travel experience that you’ve ever had…
Hiking to Machu Picchu was pretty cool, but I’d say playing soccer with local Peruvians on Amantini Island at Lake Titicaca!

What life lessons have you learned from backpacking/traveling? 
I have learned that many people take what they have for granted; that although some live in what we would call poverty…they live in the moment and are very happy; that we are more alike than different, and that we are all connected throughout the world!

at the exotic Halong Bay

 If I have the special power to teleport and bring you with me somewhere, where do you want to go? 
Everywhere…but if I had to pick just one…I would say Africa (Togo, Benin, Ghana, Cape Town, Ethiopia, and Uganda).

Among the places that you’ve been to, which one fascinated you the most? 
Jordan was amazing.  From the bedouin people in the Wadi Rum desert to hiking through Petra…the sense of adventure and mystique was tangible!

What’s a typical day for you? 
That changes depending on the month.  I am working a temporary office job right now for the next month or two until I either get jobs as a Tour Director or move to another country to teach English as a second language.  Who knows, I may take an around-the-world trip first.

I know when you travel your house is inside your backpack. But how about on your typical day, what are the top 5 things you never missed to put in your daily bag?   
My Android phone, camera, wallet, lip gloss and water bottle.

What’s the silliest thing you’ve ever done while travelling? 
I did a back bend on a felucca sailboat on the Nile River in Egypt…at night…during a sand storm…a couple of years ago.

What’s your message to women who are hesitant to travel solo?   
You will grow as a person and reap the rewards of empowerment and a sense of accomplishment, if you take a solo trip.  Start off small with a dinner out, followed by a weekend trip, before embarking on a full week’s adventure!

What’s your favorite travel quote?  

Collect experiences…not things!

enjoying the scenic Colorado


2 thoughts on “Backpacker’s Hotseat: Sherry of Fabulous 50’s

Leave a Reply

