A solo walk along Hollywood Road, Central Hong Kong

I woke up to the blustering Mongkok in my fourth day stay in Hong Kong. My flight back to the Philippines was at 20:00 which meant I still have a whole day to get some of this modern city.

The Astronaut Hotel, which has been my home for four days, is located in the middle of the busy Nathan Road and Mongkok Road. I sat on the reception area, sipped my coffee as I learned to navigate through the big Hong Kong Map in front of me. I was learning how to get to the Hollywood Road via MTR.

“Disney…Disney” said the friendly Chinese receptionist, who’s the hotel owner at the same time (that’s how Chinese run their business) selling me some Disneyland Tickets. She had been so friendly and I called her “Auntie”. In spite of the language barrier, she tried to build rapport and tell me stories about her family. With her face and hand motions and a little bit of English on her sentences, somehow, I was able to understand what she meant.

I left her the room keys and tell her that I’m going somewhere else and Disneyland was not part of my itinerary for that day. (can’t tell her that it’s not my cup of tea)

From Mongkok I took the MTR all the way to Central Hong Kong. I found myself having my solo walk at the Hollywood Road. My pace was enough for me to discover that this part in Hong Kong is where the hustle and bustle of modern city mingles with colorful age-old traditions. This place is an antique lover’s paradise. The street is filled with curio and antique shops of all kinds: from Chinese furniture to porcelain ware, from Buddha sculpture to oriental rugs, from Japanese netsukes to Coromandelscreens. High end coffee shops, yellow Ferrari car, towering hotels, outdoors shops and old Chinese people.

I also passed by the Upper Lascar Row. The shopper’s paradise and is an alley lined with traditional stalls. I walked back uphill to the Hollywood Road and found the Man Mo Temple – one of the first traditional-style temples in Hong Kong, which had become homage to the gods of war and literature. (Man Mo Temple is open from 8AM to 6PM)

I continued walking east along Hollywood Road and took the Central Mid-Levels Escalator up to Staunton and the SoHo area. The Central Mid-Levels Escalator is at 800 meters long and the world’s longest covered outdoor escalator.

Feeling tired and hungry after my long and interesting walk, I rested in the SoHo area where I found some great food, coffee shops and funky bars.

HOW TO GET TO THE HOLLYWOOD ROAD:

By BUS
Bus 26 outside Pacific Place at Admirality to Hollywood Road and get off near Man Mo Temple

By MTR
1.        Get off MTR Central Station
2.        Exit D2 and turn right to Theater Lane
3.        Walk along Queens Road Central towards The Center
4.        Then take the Central Mid – Levels Escalator to Hollywood Road

4 thoughts on “A solo walk along Hollywood Road, Central Hong Kong

  1. Hi. Searching for feedbacks about Astronaut Hotel lead me to your blog. I would like to know how you contacted/booked them. Did you use the number in their website? It doesn’t look like a Philippine number. Thanks.

    1. Hi Tani – we contacted them through phone. It’s an HK number not Philippines number. Here are the hotel info:
      Address: Flat B 13/F, Kingland Mansion, 737 Nathan Rd, Mongkok
      Phone Number: (852) 3111 1419
      Website: http://www.astronauthk.com

  2. Hi. Thanks for the informative post – like Tani above I was Googling for Astronaut Hotel, and it eventually led me to your blog. I checked their site recently and the number listed there is 852-9735-3090 and it says to look for Mr. Johnny coz the hotel’s Filipino-owned? Umm, is it? And I really, really hope you don’t mind me asking but how did you arrange for payment? Did it require full payment and do I have to use my credit card or PayPal or something? Thanks!

    1. Hi xantophile..the number i’ve used before was the one ending in 1419..maybe they have updated their contact recently.Yes it’s owned by a Filipino but I’ve never met him.It’s his Chinese wife who takes care of the business. If I can remember it correctly we deposited 50% of our total reservation to her bank account then the other 50% when we get there. I suggest to try to call both contact numbers for reservation rather than walk-in because the rooms are occupied most of the time. 😊

Leave a Reply

